Cheating on WoW (sorta)

Fannon wrote a post awhile ago (I’d link it, but the last time I tried that my work computer had a conniption fit….it’s one titled “Encouraging Infidelity: On Burn Out & Blood Bowl”) that resonated with me. In fact, it was similar to steps I’d taken myself to stave off or recover from burn out in the past. But until recently, playing other games wasn’t an option for me. You see *looks around warily* I play on a Mac. I’m a graphic designer by day, so it’s easier to stay with Mac when I get home. It’s not that I have a gripe with PC’s, but I’ve got design programs on my Mac I know how to use well if I ever need to whip something up for someone. Thus far, this hasn’t been an issue since WoW works on Macs and no other MMO has seriously tempted me (LOTRO did slightly). Until now.

SW:TOR was what got me thinking about my situation. I had the brilliant realization one day that my previous computer (a 12″ MacBook I got as a gift before I started playing WoW) was getting long in the tooth for a computer. It’s a 2004! And though I don’t use it now for much more than surfing the internets in the comfort of my own bed, I could totally justify replacing it….WITH A PC! Tooootally! I waited a few months on the advice of a PC-savvy friend, who thought prices might drop at the beginning of the year (they did, but only slightly). Just over a month ago, I purchased my beautiful Asus and it arrived before I could recover from the sticker shock.

All of the sudden, I went from having 1 game I could play to 3. I could hardly decide on any given day which game to play! I’d log on and play LOTRO in the mornings before work, I’d compulsively make tons of characters in SWTOR, I was like a kid in a candy store! LOTRO has gotten most of my focus lately due to a more active kin (aka guild) that always has people on. My Star Wars guild was all but deserted by the time I showed up, so that was mildly discouraging. Any night that isn’t a raid night in WoW has me on one of those two games if I’m in a game at all.

It’s not that I’m burned out of WoW per se, though it has lost some of the luster over time. It’s just that I have no interest at the moment in leveling yet another alt in WoW, I don’t care about achievements or retro raiding (I’ll do it to be social sometimes) and there’s nothing my main can do to even get upgrades outside of raiding. Plus, NEW SHINEY! So keeping Fannon’s post and my own similar thoughts in mind, I’m letting myself enjoy this time of new shiney games, with new people, new quests, new cosmetics, etc. It’s hard at times, though, when I try to do /g to talk in guild and realize that no, I’m in LOTRO, and it’s /k for kinship chat. All my instincts, honed over 7 years of playing WoW, say to do one thing when it’s usually another elsewhere….ARG. But either I’ll cut one of the games and have a new found appreciation for my first MMO, or maybe it’ll be time to finally ease on out of the World….of Warcraft. I still enjoy raiding, but at times it does feel like a chore, like work. Some days, I come home from an 8 hour work day and eventually find myself sitting down for another 5 hour ‘work session’.

Who knows what will happen in the long run, but I am much happier since I made the decision to return to Scarlet Crusade. I feel that it was the right decision, that continuing on as I was would have been no good for me. I might have gotten myself to the point I was at when I transferred those 3-ish  years ago….I almost decided to walk away from the game entirely and I wouldn’t have regretted it. I don’t know much of the goings on of ThoBro these days, I haven’t been able to bring myself to log on much since I had the talk with my GM/raid leader in December. I’m gathering raiding has all but stopped, except for LFR stuff. Yeah, I know. It’s partly cowardice that hold me back. But it’s also the thought of “What would I do? I’m not raiding, therefore I’m not gearing to raid better…”

Focusing on one server again has greatly simplified things for me, I will say. At the height of my raiding schedule, I was raiding 4-5 days a week on 3 different characters, and on Tuesdays it was on both servers, back to back. Yeah, it was bad. It was hurting all of my toons, because I couldn’t work on improving one and give all my time and attention to just one. Now, I can max out VP (well, not NOW now, since Endy needs nothing at all from VP), I can do LFR (again, not really any more), I can gather mats to get something crafted….whatever. And I have more free time. I can not log in every day but Tuesday and Thursday if I so desired.  Right now, it is what I desire.

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

