Finding happiness in WoW

It’s been a rough 2 months, dear readers. I’ve been considerably less active on my blog of late because (as I’ve said before) I didn’t know what to say without hurting feelings or sounding like a bitch, or both. I didn’t want to post issues that could and should be solved in game. I felt silence was for the best, all the way around. I still don’t know the ‘right thing’ to say….therefore, this post may go all over the place.

I just want to raid, as I’ve said to many a person recently, and it’s been hard to do that between this issue and that. For awhile, it seemed like either raid lead or not at all and…I’m so not a leader. Not in the least. But because of my strong desire to raid, I tried to do just that (with help). Let’s just say that my career as a co-RL was very, very short (hint: I sucked BIG TIME). The group I’m running with now is still a work in progress, our DPS needs improving across the board and the roster seems to change in a major way based on who can make it…but we’re a good, fun bunch of people, recently united by the crummy actions of one of our former raid group members.

It’s been hard for me to find joy in WoW at times lately. It was stressing me out IRL, and I thought of many a wild thought during the worst of it. The thing that made it hard(er) was I love my guild, it’s full of great people, and it’s been a haven for me since I transferred to get away from the drama of my old server. Having the first major bout of ‘bad times’ on ThoBro hit me extremely hard. So, still taking the advice I gave myself long ago, I’ve been not forcing myself to play when I wanted to do other things and logging on my old server more to play Endy 2.0 (part hiding from the stress, part having fun reconnecting with old guildies I hadn’t seen in awhile, cause  it’d been awhile since I’d logged into Scarlet Crusade and some were coming back from years away). Simply playing the game again, selfishly doing what I want when I want. I’ve needed the ‘vacation.’

Playing on 2 servers is like having my cake and eating it too. It has, in my case, provided me with a place to go when one of my servers is causing me stress or just has nothing going on. When most folks are logged off for the night on ThoBro, I can hop on SC and they’ll be in BoT or BD, raiding til the wee hours. In fact, funny story, that. No really, it’s hilarious. See, Endy 2.0 dinged 85 about 2 days ago. She hasn’t run any instances since doing so, but I have managed to get the epic healy shield crafted for her, as well as buying a few bits and pieces off the AH. Her average gear score is 328, so she’s juuuust shy of being eligible for Heroics. I logged on last night after a rather fun night on ThoBro so I could do my daily JC’ing quest – Timeless Nightstones 3 days running…wtf – and maybe troll the AH for a good deal. I’m the only person on NOT in BoT raiding. I’m doing my thing, looking at rings on the AH and the GM suddenly says in guild “Hey Endy, wanna raid?”

…….

What is this, I don’t even…..

Less than a minute later, I’m in BoT, facing…well, I didn’t even know where we were. I later figured out it was the Elementium Monstrosity council. Keep in mind, just dinged, not even eligible for heroics, no proper flasks or food stuffs and no familiarity with the boss fight. I’ve never been past the trash in that first room that everyone farms for epix. I was, to quote Illidan, “not prepared.” And yet, an hour and a half or so later, for the first time, the guild downed the Monstrosities and I was in quite a bit of shock that (at times), I was actually second on the healing meters. I know, healing meters can lie and not tell the whole story, but I was expecting to be a distant third to the other 2 healers. I’m still kinda…whaaaaa? We actually tried Cho’gall once and got him to 79%. So….hilarious story, right? My first Cata boss downed, on my freshly dinged 85. Wasn’t expecting that.

Anywho, things are holding steady nowadays. I’m wary, but not stressed out. My raid group is a fun bunch, though I am going to try to get some of them through heroics for better gear. I’m focusing on leveling my DK currently (omg, smashing in faces is so much FUN!) and even working on my wee mage a bit now that I’ve influenced some of my SC guildies to make/transfer toons over to ThoBro. I’m having fun. I’ll take it.

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Randomness, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding happiness in WoW

  1. Ttrinity says:

    I understand the restlessness as well. Glad you are having fun healing 🙂

  2. Cynwise says:

    I got pulled into a BH raid the other week by my guild. I’m like… guys, you know I’m in full PvP gear, and I don’t have a single piece of PvE gear?

    They’re like, pfffft, whatever, you don’t stand in fire… much… you’ll be fine! And I was. Raiding is like riding a bike, I guess.

    I found having a second server to retreat to is a relief. It’s not that I don’t enjoy my home server, it’s just that having another place to go can break up the routine. I can be social, or quiet, or whatever I’m feeling that day.

    Great post!

  3. Grats on the kill! That was a tough one for my guild, people like to tunnel vision too much. And I definitely understand about the second server thing, I have a death knight that I’m (slowly) leveling on friend’s server, and it’s nice to go over there and just veg out.

  4. Iris says:

    Congratulation! I know how hard it has been, and I am happy you found the fun (or, it found you!). HFC was great while it lasted. Let’s say “woot” for an expansion worth of fun, keep good memories, and move on if we must in order to enjoy ourselves.

    Again, major grats!

  5. saif says:

    Heh, that’s not exactly an easy fight to heal either. Congratulations.

    I’ve been retreating to other games rather than servers. If I’m in WoW and not contributing to my guild, it just feels weird to me.

    And Raid Leading can be stressful enough and co-raid-leading can be… interesting if you have personality conflicts. I remember some “fun” times being in raids with co-leads.

  6. Apple says:

    You should be Horde on ThoBro – then I’d have people to chill with on my hunter. 😛

Leave a Reply

