It’s all fun and games….

A month or two ago, I got promoted to an officer in my guild. It’s basically the ‘has no official responsibilities’ kind of officer, but one nonetheless. I figured I had something to offer and I had a certain level headed nature that could be useful. Even though I didn’t have to, I felt I should DO something because, I didn’t just want to be an officer in name but not action. So I came up with the idea of a Fun Event(s) for the whole guild to get in on. The first officer I mentioned this too kind of dismissed the idea, or at least the notion I had to do anything to ‘earn’ my officer status, but I really felt I had a strong idea, it just needed fleshing out. So I mentioned something in /o chat later on and it was fairly well recieved. I was given the go-ahead to head up the planning on it. Unfortunately, I was just about to go on my Disney trip, and then at the same time, drama happened, and then from that drama came more drama, which left me with not much of an inclination to plan any fun events (with not even a strong inclination to play WoW). But, faced with disappointment from some that I didn’t get on top of the planning like I’d said I would, and my own desire to do some fun, guild bonding, I’m hoping to get back on track with that.

When I first conceived the whole thing, it was going to be a Weekend Extravaganza of Fun. Lots of fun events, packed into one weekend. But, it’s evolved a bit since then. It’ll be easier to focus on planning one event at a time, plus, it guarantees that more people should be able to get in on the action if it’s one event here, another event there. I have in mind things like a Fishing Tourney, to get the That’s A Lot of Bait achievement, maybe even a Mining Tourney to get the mining one, since we’re pretty close on that, an Alt-o-rama, wherein people get a chance to run their alts through instances with guildies (either with all at level toons, or having an uber 85 run them through), or a Hide & Seek game, where a guildie hides in a zone, and guildies try and seek him (clues being given of course, to pinpoint his location more and more as time goes on). But the one that I’m getting together first, since it’s fairly easy, is Ground Beef. What is Ground Beef, you ask? Of course you’re asking….I know it! It’s an idea I’m borrowing from here, and mostly keeping it intact, save the name. It’s easily done, should be fun, and will result in prizes being given!

Basically, we’ll make level 1 Taurens on a random server (since I know a few guildies at least, have little or no spaces free) and give their cows names that hopefully reflect their own, but with a cow-like twist to it. I could be “Endymoo” for instance, or “Moowyn.” We’ll then make our way to Thunder Bluff. If we can find a kind mage to make a port to Dalaran, it’d be even better, since we could jump from the Purple Parlor….waaaaaaaaay at the top of Dalaran. Either way should work. Once at TB, I’ll jump and become the ‘target.’ Everyone else will get 3 chances to jump, and land as close to my poor, mangled body as possible – and not rez when they’re happy with their position, so their corpse remains. We’ll have 2 or 3 judges to decide who is the closest to my body, and we’ll have a first, second and third place, with prizes. I just need to decide what prizes…augh!

Hopefully, this will be the first of a series of fun events we can do as a guild to bond, hang out with each other, have some fun, etc. Since 25 mans are not in our immediate future at least, it’s harder to hang out with tons of guildies at once. That’s why I always liked 25 mans. Yes, they were harder to organize and I myself prefer 10 man raids, but with the 25 mans, I got to hang and raid with tons more guildies. I kind of miss that.

So if anyone has a hordie mage that wouldn’t mind helping out, um…I could give you uhhh, err, lots of thanks on my blog and twitter? >.>

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Guild Stuffs, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s all fun and games….

  1. Ha, the Ground Beef idea is adorable XD
    And fishing parties are really nice since anyone can fish from a pool at any level of fishing – and any pool works, of course. We did this and we actually had a guildie fish up the turtle mount. We also gave away prizes for every 1000 fish caught. We just did a /roll off.
    If you’re into PvP at all, even casually, casual PvP events can work too. I did a little write up about some ideas I came up with if you’re interested 🙂
    Sadly, I haven’t really worked toward implementing them myself at all in my guild, as I’d like to finish building my new computer so I can record battles and whatnot XD

  2. Deimonia says:

    That sounds like a fun event. My guildies have a lot of events, most are in real life. We’re a local guild.

    Anyway, if you haven’t done this event and still need a mage you can pop on the Ysera server. I have a level 75 parked in Orgrimmar. One of these days I’ll get around to leveling her, until that time she’ll keep making bags, enchanting, and disenchanting things. I’m usually on Villitha or occasionally Pouncealot.

  3. Endyme says:

    Thanks for the offer Deimona, but given the short time between announcing it and doing it, I kept it on Fizzcrank. People were already making their cows days before the event, so I felt changing the location would be not idea. Ground Beef was REALLY fun, even though it didn’t go the way I’d invisioned. People had a grand time chilling in Vent and throwing themselves off TB and the prizes seemed to be well received. We even made a guild from it all and maybe I’ll organize further nutty adventures with the cows. I’m thinking a raid on Goldshire/Hogger. Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

