(Un)Holy Randomness has a blogoversary!

On February 9, 2010, very late at night, a brief blog post was made. It didn’t say anything more than “Hi blog land! Here I am!”, but it was a start. I was inspired by the blog of a friend and guildie, Askevar, who seemed to really enjoy doing her blog, and thought I could try my hand at it. I struggled with what to name it, and eventually settled on (Un)Holy Randomness because of the fact that my main toons at the time were my Holy Pally and Unholy DK, and I didn’t want to be tied down on what the blog would be about – and thus (Un)Holy Randomness! It seems time has flown since then, because it certainly doesn’t feel like it’s been a year since I started blogging. There’s still so much I want to do! So instead of putting facts and figures out there, or favorite or most commented on posts, I wanted to talk about what blogging has meant to me and my goals for the future of this blog.

I’ve been playing WoW for 6 years now. SIX. Putting that in words feels wierd. Alot has happened in those 6 years and I’ve long felt I had observations, advice, stories to share. This blog has enabled me to share them with others, even if it’s not very many people. Big name bloggers like Matticus, Tam (who just announced he’s retiring from blogging), Larisa etc, have tons of readers, fans, pull in the blogging community and that’s cool. I’m not blogging for the e-fame, or attention in general. I’ve enjoyed blogging for the release of it, for the ability to get out all the stuff that’s been stuck in my head with nowhere to go. Posts like Getting Emotional in Game didn’t necessarily get a shite ton of comments, but it let me put my feelings about a nasty incident in WoW on pap..err, screen. I felt better having shared it and hopefully it connected with someone. Truths of the Game is another post I feel proud of because I felt, after 5 years of playing WoW, I had some (not earth shattering or unique) observations to share that until my blog came about, only stayed with me.

In the beginning, I was so busy trying to figure out how2blog and getting all these things that were stuck in my head out of it, that I had a treasure trove of post ideas. Lately, it’s not been the case, and sometimes I flounder for things to say, but I try not to force it. It’s why, unlike Tarinae and some bloggers, I haven’t made a ‘posting schedule’ for myself. I’d rather not make a post because I have to, but rather, because I have something to say/share. Since I started blogging, I have discovered what I was seeing mentioned in other blogs (which I was voraciously reading in the beginning to see what they were all about), which is there a fine line to tread at times when posting. If guildies read your blog, as I know some of mine do, you have to be mindful of what you put if you are being negative. If the drama llama comes to visit, or you have a tiff with Bob the Annoying Warrior, or you’re thinking of leaving your guild…speaking your mind freely may not be ideal. I’ll admit, at first I thought, “Sweet, I’ll post about all sort of things and if guild drama happens, I can make posts about it and share my trials and tribulations with others!” Yes, it’s your blog, your space to do whatever you want with.ย  But with great blogging comes responsibility, as the wise uncle of a spider loving superhero once said (well, almost). Words have power and can hurt and as tempted as I’ve been to unleash them at times about certain goings on in my WoW life, I try to remember that. I’ve seen firsthand and with others what damage can be done by oversharing and being too honest in ones’ posts.

Another part of blogging: getting comments. They’re awesome and connects you to your readers and the blogosphere. Comments let you know your posts are being read, and gives you feedback and dialogue you hoped to create by posting in the first place. I live off of getting comments, no matter who it is. I won’t lie though, when a big name makes a comment or links to me, it makes my day. I got linked once late last year by Miss Medicina but didn’t realize it at first. All I knew is that the traffic for this blog SPIKED one day and I was flipping out….until I visited MM’s blog and saw a link to my wee spot of the blogosphere. I may have squee’d. Comments are love.

As for the future of this blog? Well, first off…I need to get off my lazy buttocks and whip up a new header for this blog. I’ve changed around the theme a few times since I created it, but this current one can have a customizable header and I need to make a new one that reflects where I am now in WoW. I also need to update the “My (most played) toons” section, take new pictures of my toons and update the links. I still have a draenei picture for my priest, who’s been a nelf for 2 months now. D’oh! Also, I’ve been meaning to create an email just for this blog, in case anyone wants to contact me, send in a guest post (I would totally love that) or subscribe or something. The biggest thing though, is get on Blog Azeroth. It’s a great resource and way to network and I swore I’d do it once my blog got a bit more established. Reeeeally need to do that.

*sets out a cake and starts cutting it up* Just for today, the cake is not a lie. Thanks to everyone who’s visited and commented on (Un)Holy Randomness, I hope to be around for awhile!

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to (Un)Holy Randomness has a blogoversary!

  1. Fannon says:

    Happy Blogday, Endy. I’ve been reading you for as long as I have been reading Paladin blogs, and I’ve always appreciated your posts. They may not be coming as frequently as they once were, but I still look forward to visiting every time I see that there is a new post showing up on my blogroll.

    I know exactly what you mean regarding ‘big-name’ comments. I squee’d a couple of times when some of the bloggers I admire took the time to comment on my blog.

    I would also suggest getting on Twitter. It’s a wonderful way to get connected to the WoW community. I’ve been Tweeting for a couple weeks now and it’s been fabulous!

    • Endyme says:

      Thanks Fannon! You are the first person (that I’m aware of) that I somewhat helped inspire a post for, so you’ll always stand out for that in my mind. I am hopeful that I’ll start working more pally stuff in my blog now that I’m getting my paladin love back. I think I’m getting an idea for a post: Paladin to priest and back again, or something like that.

      I’ve been reeeeeally resistant to getting on board with Twitter. My thinking goes something like “But…it’s like a simplified Facebook. What’s the draw?” Course, I was also resistant to FB for awhile and only joined because I learned my high school reunion was being planned via FB. And texting – didn’t get that for awhile either. I only started doing *that* when a hurricane blew through and the best way to get in touch with people was via text. And I suuuuuucked at it til I got my iPhone.

      New teknologee, I does not like it.

      • Fannon says:

        As I mentioned on my blog when I joined Twitter, I was really expecting it to be a lot of “I’m sitting in Subway eating” type posts, but it’s not. Or at least, not entirely (Matticus likes to tweet about his lunch with photos, for instance). It has been very cool to have a near-realtime conversation with people in the community. I’ve developed and firmed up a lot of connections through Twitter that never would have happened otherwise.

        It’s also a great way to publicize your blog and let people know when you have new posts up. Twitter has very quickly become my number 2 referral site (a certain Bossy lady is #1). It allows you to actively market your blog, and also allows a lot of new people to find you as well. All in all, joining just for this makes it worthwhile, but I think you’ll quickly discover that it’s a lot of fun, too.

        But anyway, enough with the Twitter recruiting schpeal. Love your blog, Happy Blogiversary, and go play your Pally, already! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Endyme says:

          Hmm, I may give it some thought. I wasn’t a fan of having a Twitter to be cool, or for any RL reason, but maybe just for the blog….I have no idea how it works though.

          As for the pally, she is level 83 as of the other day. So progress is being made! My *other* pally (also named Endyme, but I tend to call her 2.0 to clarify which Endyme I’m referring to) is 75 and climbing. It’s rediculously easy to level 2.0 right now, whereas I feel like I’m climbing a mountain trying to level the other one. But I’m working on it! Just got Holy Radiance and I can’t wait to play around with it.

  2. Janyaa says:

    Yay! Grats on your blogaversary, Tarinae Endyme. I agree with you about not forcing a blog post and about respecting your fellow guildies. I always look forward to reading what you have to say. You do it with such class and humor.

    Thank you for your contributions to the blogging community and representing the holy pallies so well!

  3. Reversionlfm says:

    Grats on the first year!

  4. Braydenn says:

    Gratz Endy ! I must say, I visit your page a lot to check for updates. I’m always excited to see a new post. Keep on blogging !

Leave a Reply

