Getting my pally mojo back?

It’s no secret to anybody that knows me that I favor my priest these days. I got SUCH a kick out of leveling the bubble loving gal to 80, and gearing her up, but 4.0.1 was definitely the straw that broke the camels back for me. I just didn’t make the adjustment to the new way of healing, with all our fancy new abilities and I was a bit traumatized by the issues I had when 4.0.1 came out. I was constantly crashing and at first, thought one of my addons was to blame and disabled them all. Then, when I was addonless and still flailing about, the guild went into ToC (I think it was the weekly) and I…yeah…trauma. It was horrible. I felt much like I did when I was on my disco priest shortly after transferring her: I panic healed. Paladins on various blogs were theorycrafting and I’ve always been more of an instinctual healer, so I just felt overwhelmed, lost and unhappy with my paladin.

Months before that, I had also stopped playing Endyme 2.0 on my original server, because suddenly, my gear was hindering my ability to heal, my pride wasn’t helping and my confidence was blinding me to problems. I found that I was unable to handle instances Northrend was giving me. I even had to leave a group when I was unable to properly heal them (I went OOM during the first boss in Utgarde Keep. Embarassing)…I’m just grateful I didn’t get kicked. I had a wake up call and went on an AH’ing/enchanting/etc spree to bring 2.0 more up to speed. It helped a bit, but I was scarred from my experiences and busy with raiding and prepping for Cata on ThoBro, so I never found the time to pop over and work on her. So she sat at 70 for many months.

Time passed…*makes Wayne’s World hand motions* Doodle dooodle doo! Dooodle doooodle do!

Lirwyn is 85 and making the heroic rounds to better her gear (green ilevel 318 wand…must replace!) and prep for eventual raidage, Endyme is slowly clawing her way towards 85 (she’s 82 and some change now) and I’ve become interested in leveling my wee nelf mage.

My old leveling buddy from Scarlet Crusade and I are RealID friends, so we can chat cross server with each other, and his warrior was about to hit 70. The other day, I joked “Hey, when you hit 70, you can tank, 2.0 can heal!” Well, naturally he started bugging me once the warrior hit 70 to spend some time on 2.0. I felt guilty enough for not logging on at all since roughly August, so it didn’t take much for me to decide to head on over to the old stomping grounds, whereupon it felt like it was an “Guidies of Days Past Reunion.” Seems I wasn’t the only old timer to start playing again, so it was funtimes chatting up old friends I hadn’t seen in years and speccing out Endy while doing so. Finally, while crossing my fingers that all went well, the tank/healer combo queued up!

I tell you, we breezed though Utgarde Keep. I was a bit taken aback at how easy it was. I was doing nothing more than using Holy Shock and Word of Glory, with the occasional Flash of Light or something random tossed in. I wasn’t OOM, or even close to OOM at any point, I didn’t feel stressed. Easy peasy. Since that night, I’ve clocked in more time with 2.0 and it’s still easy. There have been times I’ve been in conversation with someone while healing, and I’m slightly distracted..and even then, it’s fine. Nobody’s died, Endy 2.0 gained a level or two, and I’m easing back into the paladin thing.

It may have given me my pally mojo back. I’m trying to work on Endyme, the first, more. The only drawback to it is that Endyme is leveling as Ret. I have no idea what I’m doing (I just mash buttons, and things die) and haven’t done any instances with her yet. But I hope that by working on Endy 2.0, I can get to know how2holypally again, start easing into it a little bit at a time. All I know is the for awhile, I couldn’t bring myself to log onto Endyme (either one), I just wasn’t interested enough, there was always some other toon I could play around on. Now? Bring on the paladins!

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting my pally mojo back?

  1. Kanrad says:

    If you want or need tips or anything Holy Pally you know where to find me. =)

    • Endyme says:

      *puts down the binoculars* Yes, yes I do.

      I mean, um…yeah, um…in guild! I’m a bit overeager to have Endy at 85 already, to the point where leveling seems excruciating because I just…want….to be….85! I probably just need to do a few instances to help leveling go a little faster. I’ve only been to Throne of Tides with some level 85 guildies, so everyone but me was OP.

Leave a Reply

