Why I heal (and love it)

“Healing is so stressful!”

This has been said in response to the “Tanking would stress me out” statements I make when people even vaguely hint at getting me tank something Tanks have to know which mobs to attack first, who does what nasty ability, where to go, they set the pace of the instance. I just cannot imagine tanking and am not inclined to try. DPSing, I can do. But not tanking. No thank you, I pass. 

I heal you long time…

But ahh, healing. That’s what I truely love to do. Stressful? At times, maybe. Most of the time I don’t think of it as stressful so much as challenging. It’s quite rewarding when you push through the stress to heal like a pro and help the guild down some hard boss. I like healing because it makes me feel good when I know I saved someone from certain death so they could live to DPS/tank another day. I just love saving people, and not to give myself a big ego and feel godlike. I just feel *good* when I do my job. I get the warm fuzzies when someone says “Awesome heals.” I love the feeling I get when I pull of some healing magic on a complicated pull that got out of hand. 

Stand back and let the master work

I’ve always been a follower type, more than a leader. I’m generally happier following someone else’s lead, letting them set the pace, and going from there. And honestly, in the beginning (and even now), I love that healing lets me stand in the back and just focus on the players, more than the mobs…except to hit them to get up Judgement of the Pure or stun them or something. As someone who until recently had a pretty laggy playing experience (12 inch, couple year old laptop ftl), it was frankly easier to stand back and not have to manuever around various mobs and bosses. Less moving = happy player. As long as I’m being honest, I’ll also say that I know I can kinda tune out some of the explanation of the finer points of a boss fight as a healer. I don’t need to know that melee hits caster types and ranged hits melee types of mobs in the Deathwhisper encounter (well, I do know it, but if you asked me which ones were the adherents and which ones the fanatics, I’d be at a loss). All I need to know as a healer is get out of the fire (aka Death and Decay), the tanks run back and forth to handle the adds, cleanse stuff and watch out for ghosts in the last phase. 

Other than that, I don’t know if I can find words to explain why I love healing. I mean, I enjoy DPSing (on my DK, anywho. Retribution never tickled my fancy too much). I love dealing damage and seeing those big numbers and kicking ass and taking names. But if I had to pick one role to play the rest of my WoW career, it’d be a healer. I’ve not gotten bored of it yet. Even when I’m on a toon that *can* heal, but isn’t specced into whatever tree heals, I’m known to pop off some heals to ‘help out’. I’m sure the healer may read that as a sign I don’t have confidence in him/her, but doggone it, I just can’t help it. It’s instinct.

WTB moar healerz

I only have one healer though, and it’s a goal of mine to get another healer in my collection of toons. I have a 70 priest that has been nothing but shadow currently collecting dust on my original server. I mean to level her (maybe be a disco priest!) up, but don’t know if it’ll happen. I also have a druid on my current server that’s sitting pretty at 18 and I really need to make her my next project when I get ‘bored’. I want to know what it’s like to have HoT’s and too many healing spells to know what to do with.  I have a feeling once I hit a wall with my DK (I feel it coming…getting her into ToC 10 man or whatever is gonna be hard since I’m a healer, asking to bring in a DPSer, which means they’ll need to nab another healer from somewhere. Blarg), I may just start working on her some. First off will be bringing her to human lands, which I am much more familiar with. Elf lands just confuzzle me.

What about you?

So why do you love healing? Does it give you warm fuzzies? Do you like playing someone with powers of life (and death…if you don’t heal someone) over others? Or do you hate it with a firey burning passion that knows no bounds and you’d rather tank than cast a healing spell?

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Healing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I heal (and love it)

  1. Vorastrix says:

    See, you and I are exact opposites. Healing stresses me the heck out. If I don’t heal, you die. I’ve tried it, I’ve geared characters for it… but ugh, it makes me skerred on my best days.

    Xabre was my first 60, my first 70. He became my main during WotLK because at the time tanks had SUCH low damage I wanted to do more with dps. And when we joined WaR, there were so many tanks that a dps was a better fit. But my first love has always been tanking. My goal was to have one of every type, and I’m slowly working on that.

    Xabre’s maxed out for tanking, and wont improve until I finish with that drop for Vora. then I can beg to try ToC. 🙂

    my Dk is 77, and DW spec tank for something different.

    my Warrior is 62, and currently Arms; when I get him to 70 and the easy BS patterns for tanking gear, I’ll dual spec and start tanking with him.

    My Druid is nothing more than a saved name for when the Worgen comes out.

    And then on another server I have a Blood-specc’d tank DK at 65 who randomly pugs BC instances.

  2. Ophelie says:

    Healing feels most natural to me. The whole reason I switched to tanking back in BC was because I found I wasn’t progressing as a player anymore. Tanking was tough, like trying to draw with my wrong hand.

    Thankfully, I found a guild with an amazing healing team, so no matter how much I push myself, I still have tons to learn from them.

    I still find tanking way more stressful than healing. I actually only recently began tanking random heroics with non-guildies. And dps, oh my. Last night I was the third tank for 25 man Putricide, which means I had to tank phase 3 and pretend to dps for phases 1 and 2. OMG. So scary. I actually broke down and bawled for a bit after the first attempt.

    • Endyme says:

      Exactly, that’s another thing I forgot to mention actually…healing feels comfortable to me. When I’m on Endy, I’m confident. I know what I’m doing and if I don’t, I’m willing to learn and grow and get even better! I feel like I can handle whatever Blizzard throws at me. Not as much on my alts. I feel alright on my DK in heroics, but get me in a ‘big girl raid’ and it’s like learning all over again.

  3. puggingpally says:

    Like you, I find the responsibility of healing to be much easier to bear than the responsibility that comes from tanking. Even DPS sometimes feels like more pressure than healing to me – we have such tremendously good DPS, that the pressure to match up without feeling ilke a failure is strong.

    Healing’s fun because you get to give LIFE, and people live, and everyone is happy. I’ve got three healing characters at level 80 – druid, priest, and shaman, and pally will make four. I wanted to try every heal-able class in the game. Is it a sickness? It’s possible.

    • Endyme says:

      If it’s a sickness, it’s one I want to try and catch. I just hate leveling so much that it’s hard to get motivated to work on my druid. And my priest is on my other server that I’m not on as much…not to mention that it’d feel like getting a full grown character and not having a clue what to do (I haven’t played her regular like since…er….I forget).

  4. youyankityoutankit says:

    I find I prefer to tank or heal versus dps. If I’m tanking [and I have a tank of every class atm lol] or healing, I feel like I can make things go right… that I can try to insure that the experience is as painless as possible for everyone… though I will say… I find tanking in H-HoR stressful… whereas healing is just a challenge to me.

  5. Kanrad says:

    I like to heal because it makes me feel like I make a difference and matter. I’ve been the just another DPS and the stress of tanking is not to my taste.

    Healing is, like you said, not stressful (except on Marrowgar) but instead a challenge. There is no real challenge in DPS. It’s just you versus the gear and buttons.

  6. Psynister says:

    Healing appeals to me because of the impact that it has on the overall outcome. It’s sort of the same for tanking, yet different at the same time. I’m not one to pick and choose sides on which role is the most important and such because I enjoy playing all of the roles, but each is rewarding in its own way. As a tank I’m satisfied knowing that I helped lead the team on to victory even though I’m not necessarily the one calling the shots. As a Deeps I know that I didn’t just play the game well, I also broken more than a of the opponent’s few bones during the game. But as the healer, I know my team played well because I gave them what they needed when they needed it.

    The Tank is the lead pilot, the one directing your path and leading you on to your final destination. He’s the front man and everyone knows to follow his lead. The Deeps are your wingmen and your gunners, they’re the ones blowing everything to bits, but they follow where the Tank leads because they know he’s the one guiding them to their final destination.

    The Healer, he’s the mechanic. Nobody ever thinks of the mechanic, he rarely gets congratulated or thanked for the job he’s done, and in the victory celebrations he’s the one sitting up against the wall holding a full glass and a big smile on his face watching the Deeps dance drunkenly on tables and the Tank standing over in the corner making out with some night elf chick in a black dress. Everyone’s having a ball doing their thing. The healer might look a bit lonely over there, but he’s right where he wants to be with the best seat in the house.

  7. Endyme says:

    Psynister :

    The Healer, he’s the mechanic. Nobody ever thinks of the mechanic, he rarely gets congratulated or thanked for the job he’s done, and in the victory celebrations he’s the one sitting up against the wall holding a full glass and a big smile on his face watching the Deeps dance drunkenly on tables and the Tank standing over in the corner making out with some night elf chick in a black dress. Everyone’s having a ball doing their thing. The healer might look a bit lonely over there, but he’s right where he wants to be with the best seat in the house.

    Word to that whole paragraph. I’m content to let my actions speak for themselves, and if people are mostly alive at the end of an encouter, if we can push through and I know I saved some people’s bacon so they could live to tank or DPS (or even heal!) another day…I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

