An Ode to Bacon

Beacon of Light how I love thee. Thou art the spell I love the most, the one that has saved many a toons’ bacon (*snicker*) whilst I heal some other member of the party and heals the individual the Beacon is on as well. Thou art a fair and wonderous spell, it almost makes me feel like a priest or a druid with these mysterious “HoT’s” I hear of. I sing thine praises often, fair Beacon. How can one not swoon when they read heals you cast on party or raid members will also heal the Beacon for 100% of the amount healed? Fie upon the poor Holy Paladin that does not use this every opportunity they get! Fie upon them!

My love affair with Bacon (that’s what I’ve called Beacon of Light since it got introduced) began pretty instantly. I mean, it’s a two-fer. You heal one person, and ZAP! POW! BAM! you’ve also healed someone else. As a paladin, it’s huge. All the other healing classes, shammies, priests, druids…they all have something that allows them to heal many at once or at least HoT’s they can keep up on people that continues to heal them even after the healer has moved on to another in need. Pally’s, for the longest time, had nothing. And it wasn’t fair! NO FAIR! *stomps foot in childish anger* We have 2 main healing spells, for craps sake! Holy Light and Flash of Light . Yeah, we also have Holy Shock (which I do use often, for when someone needs a heal NOW and I don’t have time to stop and cast), and that’s it, as far as spells that can heal go. I seem to remember from my dim memories of my shadow priest that they have an everloving crap ton of spells in their arsenal that can be used to heal in various ways. Not so for pallies.

But then came Bacon and the world just got that much better. Brighter somehow, as if the heavens themselves were shining down upon me and celebrating the invention of Beacon of Light, the final talent in the Holy tree. I can’t begin to relate how many times that spell has literally saved people in my party from dying. I usually cast Bacon on the tank and if DPS Guy #1 is taking shit tons of damage and the tank is taking steady damage as well, and OMG, the party is just all dying, aaaaah! Oh the humanity! What do do!? If I heal DPS Guy #1 to full, the tank gets the benefit of that as well, and that’s 2 healed like THAT. I can then tend to the rest of the party and if the tank is still taking damage (say like, if we’re on a boss fight), he STILL gets the heals I’m dishing out, thanks to my bacon. It’s just…awesome.

I just had to share my love of Beacon of Light. I have no sage words of wisdom really, it’s not hard to figure out how to use (you can’t go wrong with putting it on DPS or a Tank. It’s usually the tank, but dang, as long as you’re healing someone, and bacon is on someone ELSE….win), I just love Bacon.

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Healing, Paladin, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Ode to Bacon

  1. youyankityoutankit says:

    It’s BACON!

  2. Kanrad says:

    mmmmmmm Bacon. Oh how many times would I raids have wiped without you. And most never know how holy thou art!

  3. Jason says:

    More true information about bacon.

  4. Endyme says:

    Today I had a Subway sub. In it was bacon. And it was goooood.

Leave a Reply

