I’m a bad healer (but not really)

So I have a confession to make: I’m a bad healer.

There, I said it….whew, feels good to get out. Been holding that in for awhile.

I have a second confession: I am a darn good healer. Not perfect, mind you, but good.

Now to explain these conflicting statements. I read blogs, armory other healers of my same spec, occasionally peer at Elitest Jerks, talk to others about how they do things. I don’t go IN DEPTH and theorycraft in my spare time, but I try to educate myself on how things are done. But when the chips are down and I’m in an instance/raid, I heal oftentimes by instinct. I mash buttons in a panic when tons of damage is being taken, I choose the ‘wrong’ spells (I use Flash of Light regularly, which would probably alarm most holy pallies out there..it’s a mana hog, but it’s fast and I can’t stop using it), I don’t always wait til I have 3 stacks of Holy Power to use WoG or LoD (which I don’t really ever use cause it doesn’t seem to do anything useful)….in other words, I don’t ‘do it right.’

I’m sure much of it is muscle memory. After all, I’ve been playing a holy pally for 6 years now, but my priest for only err, maybe a year (as disc anywho). I’m sure I’ve absorbed alot of how things are done by osmosis, but I hear folks discus their class’s abilities by tossing out stats and facts and I’m like, ‘Ummm, I just heal people when their green bars get low.” I feel stupid sometimes, for not being able to bandy about these terms with ease and confidence, that I *should* know this stuff, since I’m a semi-serious raider and all. But somehow I make it work in the end, I (and say this with no ego intended or to make myself sound like I’m full of it) do a darn good job, generally, of keeping folks alive and get compliments for my heals.

Could I be a better healer? Always, always, always. Would some of the big name blogger types who’s blogs I read look at me in dispair if they saw how I healed? What mistakes I make? Oh, it’s quite possible. By some folks’ standards, I might be labeled a bad healer, but really, I don’t feel that I am. I just do it differently at times. By instinct. I might use FoL more than a proper holy pally aught to, but it’s a quick spell for when Holy Shock isn’t available and folks need a quick heal before I can spare a longer casting time heal like Holy Light or Divine Light. And a living target is better than the dead one I might have because I took 2.5 extra seconds to cast a big spell. Least that’s my thinking.

But what do I know, I’m a bad healer. :)

 

Oh huh, WordPress tells me this is my 100th post. Yay me!

About Endyme

I'm a 30-something graphic designer who enjoys traveling, reading and playing WoW in my spare time. I have no life. That is all.
This entry was posted in Healing, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a bad healer (but not really)

  1. Lorcalon says:

    You are in no way a bad healer! Go Team Heal!!

  2. AliPally says:

    Grats on 100 posts! Hmm seeing as I wasn’t using my wings enough, and having decided that Flash of Light was way too expensive (and I was using it way too often) , I replaced Flash of Light with Wings in my key combos. So, whenever I need more Haste, boom, the Wings come out and I use HL or DL as normal. Does that make me a goor or a bad healer? I have no idea. At least I have more mana now.

Leave a Reply

